People

Name (Last, First) Office Email
Afary, Janet
Professor
Mellichamp Chair in Global Religion
Area: Modern Iran; Gender and Sexuality in the Middle East
HSSB 3047
afary@religion.ucsb.edu
Ahmad, Ahmad Atif
Professor
HSSB 3032
aahmad@religion.ucsb.edu
Al-Bahloly, Saleem
Area: Anthropology, Middle East Studies
Robertson Gymnasium 1000A
Wed 2-4
salbahloly@ucsb.edu
Amihay, Ofra
Lecturer
Area: Hebrew & Comparative Literature; Visual Culture
HSSB 3048
T / R 1:30-3:00pm
oamihay@religion.ucsb.edu
Amihay, Aryeh
Lecturer
Area: Biblical Studies, Ancient Judaism, Legal Theory
HSSB 3048
T/R 10:00-12:00
aamihay@ucsb.edu
Blankholm, Joseph
Assistant Professor
Area: American Religion, Secularism and Atheism, Sociology and Anthropology of Religion
HSSB 3049
By appointment
blankholm@ucsb.edu
Busto, Rudy
Associate Professor
Area: American Religion, Race and Religion, Religion and Science Fiction
HSSB 3082
Thursday 1-3 & by appointment
rude@religion.ucsb.edu
Cabezón, José
Professor
Dalai Lama Professor
Area: Tibetan Buddhist Studies
HSSB 3026
T, Th, 3:30-4:30 or by appointment
jcabezon@religion.ucsb.edu
Campo, Juan
Associate Professor
Area: History of Religions (Islam), Arabic
HSSB 3083
W 11-11:50
jcampo@religion.ucsb.edu
Campo, Magda
Continuing Lecturer
Area: Arabic Language
HSSB 3058
campo@religion.ucsb.edu
Carlson, Thomas
Professor
Founding Director, International Center for the Humanities and Social Change, UCSB
Area: Philosophy & Religion; History of Christian Thought
HSSB 3036
tcarlson@religion.ucsb.edu
El Omari, Racha
Associate Professor
Area: Arabic Islamic Studies
HSSB 3059
elomari@religion.ucsb.edu
Elison, William
Assistant Professor
Area: South Asian Religions, Religion and Media, Visual Culture
HSSB 3053
welison@religion.ucsb.edu
Enteshari, Fariba

Feiz, Aazam
Lecturer
Persian Language and literature
Area: Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Developing Materials for Teaching Persian
HSSB 3065
M & W 10:00- 11:00 am and by appointment
afeiz@religion.ucsb.edu
Fowler, David
Lecturer
Area: South Asian Languages & Religions
HSSB 3061
T & TH 12:15-1:15pm or by appointment
fowlerds@gmail.com
Garr, W. Randall
Professor
Area: Northwest Semitic Languages, Hebrew Bible, Ancient Near East
HSSB 3050
W 11a.m. -1 p.m.
wrgarr@religion.ucsb.edu
Hecht, Richard
Professor
Area: Hebrew Judaic Studies, History of Religion
HSSB 3076
ariel@religion.ucsb.edu
Hillis, Gregory
Continuing Lecturer
Area: Tibetan and Sanskrit
HSSB 3060
TR 10-12
ghillis@religion.ucsb.edu
Holdrege, Barbara
Professor
Area: South Asian Traditions and Jewish Traditions
HSSB 3034
holdrege@religion.ucsb.edu
Jarrett, Gregory
Continuing Lecturer
Walter H. Capps Center
Area: Applied Ethics
HSSB 3061
Monday 2-3pm (or 3-4pm by appointment)
gregory.jarrett@ucsb.edu
Moore, Kathleen
Professor
Interim Director of the Capps Center for the Study of Religion, Ethics and Public Life
Area: Islamic Studies, Law and Religion
HSSB 3044 (Chair's office)
kmoore@religion.ucsb.edu
Pérez, Elizabeth
Assistant Professor

eperez@religion.ucsb.edu
Rambelli, Fabio
Professor (Religious Studies & East Asian Languages)
International Shinto Foundation Chair in Shinto Studies
Area: Japanese religions, semiotics and materiality, music and religion
HSSB 2258
rambelli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
Reynolds, Dwight
Professor
Area: Folklore & Folklife
HSSB 3056
dreynold@religion.ucsb.edu
Steavu, Dominic
Associate Professor
Area: Chinese Religions and Chinese Buddhism
HSSB 2253
dsteavu@eastasian.ucsb.edu
Talamantez, Inés
Professor
Area: Native American Religious Traditions
HSSB 3069
talamant@religion.ucsb.edu
Taves, Ann
Professor
Area: Scientific Worldview Studies; Experience and Mind; Theory and Method
HSSB 3085
W 10-12
anntaves@ucsb.edu
Thomas, Christine
Associate Professor
Director of the Ancient Mediterranean Studies Program, UCSB
Area: Early Christianity & Religions of the Roman Empire
HSSB 3067
W 2-3 pm after 10 April, M 2-3 pm, and by appointment
cmthomas@ucsb.edu
Thornton, Simon

sthornton@ucsb.edu
Walker, David
Assistant Professor
Area: U.S. Religion (19th century)
HSSB 3086
W 1-3pm
dwalker@religion.ucsb.edu
Wallace, Vesna
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
Area: South Asian Studies, Inner Asian Buddhism
HSSB 3045
vwallace@religion.ucsb.edu
Wiseman, Wendy
Lecturer
Area: Philosophy of Religion, History of Christian Thought, Religion and Climate Change
HSSB 3054
wiseman@religion.ucsb.edu
Wolfson, Elliot
Professor
Marsha and Jay Glazer Endowed Chair in Jewish Studies
Area: Jewish mysticism and philosophy; gender construction and the history of religion
HSSB 3061
ewolfson@religion.ucsb.edu
Yang, Mayfair
Professor (Religious Studies & East Asian Languages and Cultural Studies)
Area: China: Chinese religions, modernity and the state, gender, media studies
HSSB 2220; HSSB 3084
Mon 10-11:30 am; Thu 4-5 pm in 2220 HSSB
yangm@religion.ucsb.edu